94 S110P engine swap

The engine in my 94 s110p is toast, I love the truck but need a new engine. Prefer a direct bolt on option, would like to maximize horsepower. What are my options and where would I buy the best engine to use? I am not a mechanic by any means so I would be purchasing to have someone do the swap. My current engine is carbureted, does that mean the replacement must be carbureted? I don’t know what I don’t know so any help is appreciated.

G’day Ryan.
Sounds like the original engine is a EF-NS which is a carburettor 6 valve head.
Not knowing which country you’re in, I will make the options simplified.
Buy another 6 valve 660cc EF engine, swap over all the bolt on parts including the inlet manifold, carburettor, sump and oil pick up
or
Buy a 6 valve 850cc ED engine and swap over all the bolt on parts as mentioned above - you may need to rejet the carburettor to suit the new engine.

1 Like

Hello, I’m in the same boat as the op except my hijet is a 98. Same engine though. I was looking at an EJ engine, how much is involved with porting over the fuel injection setup? Are there more cost effective ways to do it other than sourcing a complete vehicle and swapping the entire system? Maybe a Holley stand alone?

I am looking for a bit more power than what the EF or EB provides. I would love to get my hands on an EF-XS/XL but they are just hard to come by and expensive when you do. By the way, I’m in Texas USA

To be honest the EF-XS is a better choice than the EJ-DE., The EJ-DE just wont rev like the EF-NS. The EJ inlet manifold wont fit, it’ll be a whole lot of fuss for an engine that won’t make the Hijet fun to drive.
Here in Australia we have access to the ED-10 or ED-20 which is an 850 cc version of the EF-NS, the ED can be bored out to fit the EJ pistons but hoestly its 149cc of displacement more. The EJ-DE fills a hole in the market because Australia has an unnatural fear of small engines