Brissy smol boi in my future

Hello fellow enthusiasts!

I’m a Dai noob who has been stalking the forum and FB group for about 6 months. Next week I’m moving into a new house that will have space to work on a car and I’m excited to purchase my first Dai and get my hands dirty.

A lot of people seem to be very comfortable with doing engine swaps and rebuilds and conversions of various kinds which is encouraging, but I’m wondering if it would be too crazy for me to jump in the deep end and do an engine swap without prior experience of that kind of thing?

Cheers,
Pepsi.

6 Likes

Welcome Pepsi.
If you know someone that can help that has had the experience it sure does make a difference especially for your first engine change. I think the answer really depends on what your looking at doing the difficulty for what engine swap that may include wiring , some modifications etc etc… or if its just a straight exchange. Only you will really know what you feel comfortable with. My advice is to do some small upgrades etc first and see how you go. Your comfort level working on cars will become better over time.
There is plenty of information in here, FB and other places online so do your research on what your looking to do also it can be invaluable.
Cheers.

4 Likes

Welcome aboard. Like Evil highway said start small. I would in fact suggest not start with the engine at all. What is your car going to be used for? Make a bit of a plan. Be realistic about your budget. What dai do you think you will end up with? What is your mechanical background? Can you fabricate parts? If you want to share the answers to those questions we can share our experiences and perhaps save you much angst, time and money

3 Likes

Cheers.

What I’m looking at is a half finished project, a 95 L201 and an L700 EF-DET motor with 5 sp L700 box, ecu, and loom. You may recognise the car as it was advertised on the L2D Facebook group.