Can i help get you needed parts from japan?

hi all,

so i live in japan and speak japanese.
im thinking of trying to start a service for helping folks out finding parts from japan. this would include any or all of the following:

searching japanese websites for parts for you
basic translation
communicating with sellers and suppliers for you
bidding/buying for you
being your japanese mailing address
shipping parts to you

and ill do all that for free. i mean, youd have to pay for the parts and the shipping, but i wont charge anything on top for myself. this would be a kinda hobby, testing the waters kinda thing. obviously that means it would be very low volume, so if you were in a hurry i probably wouldnt be your best option. also, because im not a mechanic, i wont have access to scrapyards, so its possible i may either not be able to find what youre looking for or may not actually be the cheapest option for you. i do have friends who are japanese mechanics, however, so maybe that will change in the future depending on how this goes.

what do you think? any takers?

12 Likes

Almost sounds too good to be true. I myself have no problem paying for services or even participating in it for European Daihatsu owners

maybe, eh?
but theres a couple good reasons why i dont wanna charge anything. mainly, i just like helping people and im curious to see how it goes. but also, this is just me farting around in my free time, so my services prob wont be very prompt, especially if lots of people want to take me up on it. and then maybe ill get too busy or overwhelmed and have to quit. also, this is a new adventure for me too, so ill be learning as i go and i probably wont be very good at it at 1st. also, theres lotsa people who already do this for a living, so in the off chance i end up doing this as a business, ill need to have already got the skills, connections, built up a rep and found some loyal customers if im gonna keep myself afloat.

so makes sense, right?

4 Likes