Hello from Malta

Hi all, I’m Peter from Malta. New to the forum and relatively new to the Daihatsu world.
I’m an auto mechanic by trade and all round car nut. I don’t have any particular brand which I stick to, but I never really cared much for Daihatsus until a few years ago.

Around 4 years ago I started dating this girl who has a 2006 1.3 Sirion (M301). The first time I drove it I loved how grunty the k3-ve was but also realised how let down it was by the rest of the car, high driving position and very little steering feedback being the first things I noticed. So I started looking at what could be done with these engines. This led me to discover the world of little Daihatsus and all the swaps and upgrades possible.

Well, being an auto mechanic, I started servicing and repairing her Sirion as well as her family’s cars. Now her brother happened to own a Perodua Kelisa, which as you all know is basically an L700 (Same dad, different mum). I loved this car and realised how different and alive it felt compared to the M301. Fast forward a year or so and her brother needed a bigger car so I got the Kelisa off him and started enjoying the Daihatsu(ish) life.

20171231_140200!

The Kelisa has remained basically stock with only small stuff being upgraded, like the radio being replaced with Nav unit from a Renault, Sirion M301 discs and calipers and a new 1 ¾ inch exhaust. Being in constant use and my only drivable car I couldn’t do much to it.