L200 EJ-DE swap from ED-10

Hello everyone! New to the forum but not so new to daihatsu in general!

I am the lucky owner of a firetruck red L200 dubbed by the wife as “the red rocket” not sure why tho because my grandmother can run faster than my little L200, but i am trying to get that to change :joy:.

To be honest with you guys i am by no means a car mechanic but i have a good understanding about how a car works. I see this swap as a challenge to myself to see what i am capable of! If i say, show or do anything wrong please correct me because i appreciate all the help i can get.

Current setup:
1993 L201 with a (i believe carburated) ED-10 engine. 5 speed manual gearbox. Technically the car is completely standard.

Aiming for the following setup:
EJ-DE engine, the L200 gearbox and drive train.

I have a wrecked L700 parked in my garden with a good drive train. So that will be the engine donor. Any other parts i need out of it i can grab them because i have the complete car!

Correct me if i am wrong on the following:

As far as i know i can just use the clutch of the L200 (will be installing a new one ofcourse).

The fuel system will need some work. Some people talked about drilling a hole in the fuel rail to make a return line. Does anyone have some clear pictures of that to help me out?

Can i use the L700 fuel pump or should i go with a aftermarket universal pump?
Is it possible to change the fuel tank out for a tank out of a L500 with a ED-20? (Since that has a fuel pump as well)

I have seen some people also change out the gearbox and drivetrain to fit 4x100 wheels and bigger brakes but im not going to send it on a race track and i wanna see if i can pull this swap off myself.

How can i find out if the parts car (L700) has a coded key? I believe its a 1998…

Are there any other things i should worry about or know?

Does anyone have experience with the wiring on it? Im affraid to get started on that to be honest :pensive:

6 Likes