Long time loaner Kancil, "my" first Dai

This is not a project nor a build, but this is a car I drove multiple thousand kilometers and that made me promise myself that I would get a Daihatsu one day (spoiler alert, I did).

I am from Germany, but I spent a semester abroad studying in Malaysia. Being quite a hot tropical country, getting around on foot is not an option, especially being a central european dude that is not used to temperatures and humidity like that. Public transport is barely existent outside of the capital Kuala Lumpur so it is not really an option either and relying on ride hailig services also gets expensive quickly. So the only options left are motorcycles and cars. Since I wasn’t really brave enough to rent a bike and dive into traffic that did not really follow the road code I knew from Germany, while driving on the wrong (left) side of the road, only one option was left: Renting a car.
Being a broke student, I could only dream of renting some fancy new ride like a Perodua Axia, so together with two friends we decided to resort to a more humble alternative, a Perodua Kancil, a L200 Mira built in Malaysia.

It was the “big block” 37hp 850cc version, but it was slowed down by a rather sluggish auto gearbox. However I was quite glad I did not need to think about shifting, because learning to drive on the wrong side of the road without running over one of the motorcycles that weaved past you all the time was enough of a challenge for me. Mind you, I had never owned a car before and have been only driving my parents cars (In correct-side traffic) for a few years at that point.