I have several questions

As I wrote in my introduction, I’ve many questions regarding the upgradability/tuning of my car (Newbie here)

The 3 main questions are:

1. Will I need to swap the stock k3-ve2 with something better/tuning friendly?

2. Should I send the gearbox for a rebuild, or is there a better gearbox that I can swap the stock with?

3. Can the AWD withstand 160-170hp, anyone there who did manage to get that amount of power/torque from the drivetrain?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

The K3-VE2 is like any other engine, it depends what your idea of “tuning friendly” is.
The explanation is simple enough: turbocharge it, with a good aftermarket ECU, E85 fuel (or water/meth injection), a fuel system to handle it and a realistic target for power/torque levels.

Expect the gearbox to fail. So you could program Boost-by-Gear into the aftermarket ecu. You get a rebuilt gearbox, stronger gearset.

The ‘easy’ swap is the K3VET, transplant everything factory over and you’ll have more power for the easiest swap. You’ll need to be kind to your manual, or use the auto it usually comes with. Perhaps KJVET or the JC-DET if you can find them (both from the X4’s of the different generation Sirions/Boons).

Your imagination, time, skills, ability, money is the only deciding factor on what can/can’t be swapped into it. Same goes for modding any engine/car.

The reality is they’re cheap cars and so spending the type of money needed to reach these goals is not often followed through*. Minor engine mods (intake / exhaust) add some sound and enjoyment to the drive, if not actually adding any more power. Handling mods and good tyres do wonders.

*there are some notable exceptions. However these cases also have history of breaking parts and still have a lot of investment - either in time, money or both. Of course the less time/ability the more money you have to spend and conversely the more time and ability you have, the less it will all cost you.

2 Likes