Newbie here

Hello dai community. Reading through the forum I noticed I never uploaded an intro here. So here we go.

I recently got the little sirion. It’s the Awd version with the k3-ve2 engine. I read that it’s called GTti outside Europe, idk if I’m mistaken, anyway it’s the Sirion AWD sport m111 that produces 102hp. The car was in good condition when I got it, no rust etc. The interior was awful tho, so I removed everything, from all the 4 seats down to the carpet (or whatever it’s called), all the plastics etc. The interior is now as clean as it gets.

Now to the good stuff. After some research and the help of @Granger and @Mr_Gormsby I got the Siberian bushes for my rear suspension. Car is now rock steady, but of course it has some more vibrations. I’m planning on replacing the rear springs with harder cause the car hits the bump stops when I have 1 or 2 persons sitting in the back, and for better handling.

I really like the Awd drivetrain and I want to build upon it (in the long term). I’m not planning to race or anything. I just want a reliable, small but really fast daily driver. I will be more than happy if I manage to get 160 or 170hp from that car but here are the questions about that:

As I was reading here I came to the conclusion that the k3-ve2 is not a tuning friendly engine cause of the high compression etc. So first question is if that conclusion is correct? From my pov i will never get more that 140hp from that engine, even in my wildest dreams. So the idea of swapping the engine is here. But there it comes another question, what engine will I put in the Sirion?

Transmission is another thing I was thinking of. (It has the 5-speed manual transmission) I’ve read here in the forum that the Awd transmission is not that great and will break apart if I add a powerful engine. So I was thinking of a rebuild. Found some guys that rebuild gearboxes for tuned cars, but is it worth it?