Keeping occupied during Vic lockdown

Hi everyone, I’m Daryl the father of another member, Mjwalf, I’m a retired mechanic so I have lots of time to work on my sons L500 Mira.
I have installed an engine from a 2005 Charade which as far as I can tell is a EJ-VE, after having problems with the immobiliser a Haltech was purchased and installed, had a bit of a hassle with the trigger settings which Haltech sorted for me.
Got it started this morning, needs be to be tuned but at least it’s running .
Before I can run it for very long I need to flush the cooling system and change the engine oil and filter but I suspect that the radiators hoses are reversed, at the moment the outlet from the thermostat is connected to the bottom hose, on most engines thermostat connects to the top of the radiator.
On some Toyota engines such as a 4AGE the thermostat connects to the bottom of the radiator so my question is which way do the hoses go on a EJ-VE??
Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Welcome DarylW. I would say you have an ejde as I have only ever seen 1 Australian Delivered L251 charade/mira with an ejve. The difference is the ejve has variable valve timing where the ejde does not. As for the radiator hoses If no one else answer’s I can have a look this arvo for you.

Welcome. Trying to remember off the top of my head - the thermostat at the back of the block goes to the top and the transfer tube on the bottom, which is the bottom radiator. Some more modern engines cool the head/s first which is better for power but harder to get working.

Would be great to see some pics.

Thanks for the replies, I will switch the hoses.
I will post some pics later today.

1 Like

Is it a VE or DE?
If VE I can’t see any VVT actuator as in the VVT being controlled by the ECU?
Switched hoses and cooling system is bleed and thermostat opened seem good.

3 Likes

BTW the fuel pressure regulator doesn’t have a return port so I bought another one which does.

2 Likes